, Soyean Kwon2
, Seonggyu Byeon3
, Ja Min Byun4
, Sung-Soo Park3, Ki-Seong Eom3, Chul Won Choi1
1Division of Hemato-Oncology, Department of Internal Medicine, Korea University Guro Hospital, Korea University College of Medicine, Seoul, Korea
2Division of Hemato-Oncology, Department of Internal Medicine, Seoul Metropolitan Government Seoul National University Boramae Medical Center, Seoul, Korea
3Department of Hematology, Catholic Hematology Hospital, Seoul St. Mary’s Hospital, College of Medicine, The Catholic University of Korea, Seoul, Korea
4Department of Internal Medicine, Seoul National University Hospital, Seoul National University College of Medicine, Seoul, Korea
Copyright © 2026 by the Korean Cancer Association
This is an Open Access article distributed under the terms of the Creative Commons Attribution Non-Commercial License (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc/4.0/) which permits unrestricted non-commercial use, distribution, and reproduction in any medium, provided the original work is properly cited.
Ethical Statement
This study was conducted in accordance with the Declaration of Helsinki and the ethical standards of the Institutional Review Boards of each hospital (Seoul National University Hospital: h-2410-008-1574, Seoul St. Mary’s Hospital: KC25RIDI0445, Korea University Guro Hospital: 2025GR0306). The requirement for written informed consent was waived by the IRB owing to the retrospective nature of the study.
Author Contributions
Conceived and designed the analysis: Yu ES, Kwon S, Byeon S, Byun JM, Park SS, Eom KS, Choi CW.
Collected the data: Yu ES, Kwon S, Byeon S, Byun JM, Park SS.
Contributed data or analysis tools: Yu ES, Kwon S, Byeon S, Byun JM, Park SS.
Performed the analysis: Yu ES, Kwon S, Byeon S, Byun JM, Park SS, Eom KS, Choi CW.
Wrote the paper: Yu ES, Kwon S, Byeon S, Byun JM, Park SS, Eom KS, Choi CW.
Conflicts of Interest
Conflict of interest relevant to this article was not reported.
| Immunochemotherapy | Chemotherapy | BTK inhibitor | BCL-2 inhibitor | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| No. of cases | 212 | 67 | 76 | 10 |
| Line of therapy | 1 (1-3) | 1 (1-3) | 2 (1-3) | 2 (1-3) |
| Best response | 206 | 63 | 42 | 7 |
| CR | 139 (67.5) | 16 (25.4) | 8 (19.0) | 4 (57.1) |
| PR | 52 (25.2) | 31 (49.2) | 18 (42.9) | 2 (28.6) |
| SD | 7 (3.4) | 12 (19.0) | 12 (28.6) | 0 |
| PD | 8 (3.9) | 4 (6.3) | 4 (9.5) | 1 (14.3) |
| Response durability (mo)a) | 36.1 (1.3-184.0) | 35.2 (2.4-138.0) | 16.3 (1.0-83.9) | 17.0 (6.1-51.8) |
| Progression | 67 (31.6) | 47 (70.1) | 11 (14.5) | 1 (10.0) |
| Richter’s transformation | 20 (9.4) | 4 (6.0) | 0 | 0 |
Values are presented as number (%) or median (range). BTK, Bruton tyrosine kinase; CR, complete response; PD, progressive disease; PR, partial response; SD, stable disease.
a) Response durability was assessed among responders (CR/PR) as the time from treatment initiation to progression or death, with censoring at last follow-up.
| Study/Country | Sample size | Median age at diagnosis (Years) | Rai stage (%) |
Cytogenetic prognostics (%) |
1st line treatment (%) |
|||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| TP53 mutated | Unmutated IGHV | Use of BTK inhibitor | ORR | PFS | ||||
| Current study | 519 (2006-2024) | 62 (under 65: 57.0%) | 0: 17.7, I: 32.4, II: 27.2, III: 11.4, IV: 10.2 | 7.1 (18/253) | 93.2 (136/146) | 11.2 (30/267) | ORR 89.1 (230/258) | Median PFS 82.9 mo |
| CR 55.8 (144/258) | 3-yr PFS 75.2% | |||||||
| PR 33.3 (86/258) | 5-yr PFS 63.4% | |||||||
| South Korea [12] | 192 (2008-2019) | 63 (under 65: 60.9%) | 0: 0.5, I: 24.0, II: 24.0, III: 26.0, IV: 25.5 | 15.2 (10/66) | 100 (10/10) | 0.5 (1/192) | ORR 81.3 (156/192) | Median PFS 55.6 mo |
| CR 54.7 (105/192) | 2-yr PFS 80.3% | |||||||
| PR 26.6 (51/192) | ||||||||
| China [15] | 601 (2010-2021) | 63 | 0: 7.5, I: 25.2, II: 26.1, III: 15.0, IV: 26.2 | Unstated | 34.3 (12/35) | 9.2 (16/173) | ORR 69.8% (30/43) | Median PFS Elderly (≥ 60 yr) 100 mo |
| Japan [17] | 1,301 (2016-2021) | 71.4 | 0: 52, I: 25, II: 7, III: 5, IV: 11 [16]b) | 5.4 (6/112) [16]b) | 19.6 (18/92) [16]b) | 22.4 (250/1,116) | Unstated | Median TFSTc) BTKi 134.9 wk |
| Non-BTKi 51.0 wk | ||||||||
| Europe [18] | 9,173 (2000-2020) | 67 | Unstated | 13.5 (604/4,461) [17]d) | 49.5 (4,180/8,436) [17]d) | 31.2 (84/269) | Ibrutinib only: | Ibrutinib only: median PFS not reached |
| ORR 79.8 (67/84) | ||||||||
| CR 33.3 (28/84) | 2-yr PFS 84.7% | |||||||
| PR 46.4 (39/84) | ||||||||
| Latin America [19] | 3,476 (2004-2021) | 65 | Binet stagee) | 9.8 (55/559) | 52.3 (149/285) | 1.2 (15/1,255) | Unstated | Median TFSf) 35 mo |
| A: 59.0, B: 23.0, C: 18.0 | 7-yr TFS 33% | |||||||
| United States [16] | 1,459 (2015-2019) | 70 | 0: 12.0, I/II: 40.0, III/IV: 47.0 | 24.8 (29/117) | 66.9 (81/121) | 44.8 (383/854) | Unstated | Median TTNTg): not reached |
| Proportion without nextline therapy: 24 mo 79%, 36 mo 71%, 48 mo 64% | ||||||||
BTKi, Bruton tyrosine kinase inhibitor; CLL, chronic lymphocytic leukemia; CR, complete response; ORR, overall response rate; PR, partial response; SLL, small lymphocytic lymphoma.
a) For variables not reported in a primary cohort, we supplemented the table using an additional representative study; see footnotes for variable-level sources,
b) Rai stage, TP53 and immunoglobulin heavy-chain variable region (IGHV) data were not reported in the primary cohort; the IGHV value shown is from Takizawa et al. [16],
c) Progressionfree survival (PFS) was not reported in the source data. Time to first subsequent treatment (TFST) was used as surrogate indicators of treatment durability,
d) TP53 mutation and IGHV data were not reported in the primary cohort; the IGHV value shown is from Chatzikonstantinou et al. [17],
e) Rai staging was not available; Binet stage was presented as the clinical staging classification,
f) PFS was not reported in the source data. Treatment-free survival (TFS) was used as surrogate indicators of treatment durability,
g) PFS was not reported in the source data. Time to next treatment (TTNT) and the proportion of patients without next-line therapy were used as surrogate indicators of treatment durability.
| Characteristic | No. (%) (n=519) |
|---|---|
| Age at diagnosis (yr), median (range) | 62 (28-95) |
| < 65 | 296 (57.0) |
| 65-75 | 157 (30.3) |
| > 75 | 66 (12.7) |
| Male sex | 317 (61.1) |
| Period of diagnosis | |
| 2006-2010 | 37 (7.2) |
| 2011-2015 | 120 (23.1) |
| 2016-2020 | 216 (41.6) |
| 2021-2023 | 146 (28.1) |
| CLL-IPI | |
| Low (0-1) | 83 (16.0) |
| Intermediate (2-3) | 87 (16.8) |
| High (4-6) | 38 (7.3) |
| Very high (7-10) | 4 (0.8) |
| Not available | 307 (59.2) |
| Rai stage at diagnosis | |
| 0 | 92 (17.7) |
| I | 168 (32.4) |
| II | 141 (27.2) |
| III | 59 (11.4) |
| IV | 53 (10.2) |
| Not available | 6 (1.2) |
| Binet stage at diagnosis | |
| A | 233 (44.9) |
| B | 202 (38.9) |
| C | 78 (15.0) |
| Not available | 6 (1.2) |
| Laboratory findings at diagnosis | |
| Hemoglobin < 11 g/dL | 103 (19.8) |
| Platelet < 100×109 /L | 55 (10.6) |
| ANC < 1×109 /L | 15 (2.9) |
| B2 microglobulin > 3.5 mg/dL | 42 (8.1) |
| Absolute lymphocyte > 15×109/L | 250 (48.2) |
| Prognostic variable | |
| FISH del(17p) | |
| Positive/Done | 9/290 (3.1) |
| Not done | 229 (44.1) |
| FISH del(13q) | |
| Positive/Done | 103/291 (35.4) |
| Not done | 228 (43.9) |
| DNA sequencing TP53 | |
| Positive/Done | 18/253 (7.1) |
| Not done | 266 (51.3) |
| DNA sequencing IGHV | |
| Positive/Done | 10/146 (6.8) |
| Not done | 373 (71.9) |
| Karyotype | |
| Complex karyotype/Done | 34/298 (11.4) |
| Not done | 221 (42.6) |
| No. (%) | |
|---|---|
| Time to treatment (mo), median (range) | 4 (0-115) |
| Reasons for treatment initiation (n=160) | |
| Significant disease related symptoms | 21 (13.1) |
| Threatened end-organ function | 2 (1.3) |
| Bulky disease | 44 (27.5) |
| Progressive thrombocytopenia | 52 (32.5) |
| Progressive anemia | 79 (49.4) |
| Steroid refractory autoimmune cytopenia | 1 (0.6) |
| Lines of therapy (n=519) | |
| 0 | 252 (48.6) |
| 1 | 190 (36.6) |
| 2 | 56 (10.8) |
| 3+ | 21 (4.0) |
| Immunochemotherapy | Chemotherapy | BTK inhibitor | BCL-2 inhibitor | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| No. of cases | 212 | 67 | 76 | 10 |
| Line of therapy | 1 (1-3) | 1 (1-3) | 2 (1-3) | 2 (1-3) |
| Best response | 206 | 63 | 42 | 7 |
| CR | 139 (67.5) | 16 (25.4) | 8 (19.0) | 4 (57.1) |
| PR | 52 (25.2) | 31 (49.2) | 18 (42.9) | 2 (28.6) |
| SD | 7 (3.4) | 12 (19.0) | 12 (28.6) | 0 |
| PD | 8 (3.9) | 4 (6.3) | 4 (9.5) | 1 (14.3) |
| Response durability (mo) |
36.1 (1.3-184.0) | 35.2 (2.4-138.0) | 16.3 (1.0-83.9) | 17.0 (6.1-51.8) |
| Progression | 67 (31.6) | 47 (70.1) | 11 (14.5) | 1 (10.0) |
| Richter’s transformation | 20 (9.4) | 4 (6.0) | 0 | 0 |
| Study/Country | Sample size | Median age at diagnosis (Years) | Rai stage (%) | Cytogenetic prognostics (%) |
1st line treatment (%) |
|||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| TP53 mutated | Unmutated IGHV | Use of BTK inhibitor | ORR | PFS | ||||
| Current study | 519 (2006-2024) | 62 (under 65: 57.0%) | 0: 17.7, I: 32.4, II: 27.2, III: 11.4, IV: 10.2 | 7.1 (18/253) | 93.2 (136/146) | 11.2 (30/267) | ORR 89.1 (230/258) | Median PFS 82.9 mo |
| CR 55.8 (144/258) | 3-yr PFS 75.2% | |||||||
| PR 33.3 (86/258) | 5-yr PFS 63.4% | |||||||
| South Korea [12] | 192 (2008-2019) | 63 (under 65: 60.9%) | 0: 0.5, I: 24.0, II: 24.0, III: 26.0, IV: 25.5 | 15.2 (10/66) | 100 (10/10) | 0.5 (1/192) | ORR 81.3 (156/192) | Median PFS 55.6 mo |
| CR 54.7 (105/192) | 2-yr PFS 80.3% | |||||||
| PR 26.6 (51/192) | ||||||||
| China [15] | 601 (2010-2021) | 63 | 0: 7.5, I: 25.2, II: 26.1, III: 15.0, IV: 26.2 | Unstated | 34.3 (12/35) | 9.2 (16/173) | ORR 69.8% (30/43) | Median PFS Elderly (≥ 60 yr) 100 mo |
| Japan [17] | 1,301 (2016-2021) | 71.4 | 0: 52, I: 25, II: 7, III: 5, IV: 11 [16] |
5.4 (6/112) [16] |
19.6 (18/92) [16] |
22.4 (250/1,116) | Unstated | Median TFST |
| Non-BTKi 51.0 wk | ||||||||
| Europe [18] | 9,173 (2000-2020) | 67 | Unstated | 13.5 (604/4,461) [17] |
49.5 (4,180/8,436) [17] |
31.2 (84/269) | Ibrutinib only: | Ibrutinib only: median PFS not reached |
| ORR 79.8 (67/84) | ||||||||
| CR 33.3 (28/84) | 2-yr PFS 84.7% | |||||||
| PR 46.4 (39/84) | ||||||||
| Latin America [19] | 3,476 (2004-2021) | 65 | Binet stage |
9.8 (55/559) | 52.3 (149/285) | 1.2 (15/1,255) | Unstated | Median TFS |
| A: 59.0, B: 23.0, C: 18.0 | 7-yr TFS 33% | |||||||
| United States [16] | 1,459 (2015-2019) | 70 | 0: 12.0, I/II: 40.0, III/IV: 47.0 | 24.8 (29/117) | 66.9 (81/121) | 44.8 (383/854) | Unstated | Median TTNT |
| Proportion without nextline therapy: 24 mo 79%, 36 mo 71%, 48 mo 64% | ||||||||
CLL-IPI, Chronic Lymphocytic Leukemia International Prognostic Index; FISH, fluorescence
Values are presented as number (%) or median (range). BTK, Bruton tyrosine kinase; CR, complete response; PD, progressive disease; PR, partial response; SD, stable disease. Response durability was assessed among responders (CR/PR) as the time from treatment initiation to progression or death, with censoring at last follow-up.
BTKi, Bruton tyrosine kinase inhibitor; CLL, chronic lymphocytic leukemia; CR, complete response; ORR, overall response rate; PR, partial response; SLL, small lymphocytic lymphoma. For variables not reported in a primary cohort, we supplemented the table using an additional representative study; see footnotes for variable-level sources, Rai stage, TP53 and immunoglobulin heavy-chain variable region (IGHV) data were not reported in the primary cohort; the IGHV value shown is from Takizawa et al. [ Progressionfree survival (PFS) was not reported in the source data. Time to first subsequent treatment (TFST) was used as surrogate indicators of treatment durability, TP53 mutation and IGHV data were not reported in the primary cohort; the IGHV value shown is from Chatzikonstantinou et al. [ Rai staging was not available; Binet stage was presented as the clinical staging classification, PFS was not reported in the source data. Treatment-free survival (TFS) was used as surrogate indicators of treatment durability, PFS was not reported in the source data. Time to next treatment (TTNT) and the proportion of patients without next-line therapy were used as surrogate indicators of treatment durability.
